Image And Data Visualisation – Head Model #2

Extra Visual Inspiration –

James Taylor Maya 2016:

“Download the IMAGE PLANES used in the vid: http://wp.me/P3V1aP-zZ
Too fast? Download the EXTENDED CUT video, it’s 3X longer! http://wp.me/P3V1aP-SM
This Maya 2016 tutorial shows how to model the female head and face. Creating attractive women is a must for any character artist – this tutorial shows how to create a female head that not only animates well, but looks pretty doing it!

The character modeling process in the video shows how to model proper topology around the eyes and mouth, the two key areas for animation. Follow along and your resulting mesh will have zero triangles!

I’m James Taylor – I’ve worked on million-selling video games like Mortal Kombat and NBA Ballers; I’ve been a web designer, a cel animator, a visual effects artist, and everything in between. Currently I am a professor working in the Chicago area. This channel showcases the techniques I use in my professional work.

Keep up with me on FB : http://www.facebook.com/methodjtv/

Show your support if you want to see more tutorials like this – click subscribe and share!” – James Taylor

Modelling A Head With Proper Topology:

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Personally when it came to the three part tutorial on how to create a head model, i felt this very slow and boring to watch as they were not using a proper face to model and more so a cartoon face which was not what we are not looking to achieve here, may as well mention it though on my blog.

When modelling the face, I followed the James Taylor Maya 2016 tutorial like it was religion as it was the most recent edition online and felt it would be the most handy video to follow whilst modelling for myself.

When it came to actually following James Taylor’s tutorial it was pretty straight forward, although since he had a workshop set up differently on his version of Maya compared to mine it meant that i had to pause alot and catch up before continuing on with the video, then there came the almighty crash. I had a problem with my pathetic Laptop that caused Maya to crash thus losing my nearly completed head model which had left me utterly despaired and close to giving up on the head model itself but quitting is not an option when you’re paying over three grand a year to get this degree so i pushed on regardless and started again.

This time around I found myself producing the model alot quicker having the repetition of on the model hours on end to get it completed whilst juggling the New Narratives module. Another problem I have had with the modelling process was lining up my reference images, I feel I had done the best I could although I am sure the lectures will correct me when it comes to marking.

Because i am a numpty i did not take progression photos so i had to go back and take screens of my head model, though im sure when explained it will make sense!

Starting off with two cylinders then giving them 8 sub divisions each I was able to create the basic shape the eyes and lips, once i got the correct curves I need on side view I went ahead and extruded the eyes twice to make the socket of the skull to speak and once foe the mouth area to begin the process of the laughter line. Once I had extruded, moved and divided my topology I decided to delete on side of the face then mirror the geometry so I had perfect symmetry though my face does not have such perfection so went ahead with the soft selection tool to alter the other side of my face to fit the areas of the eyes, lips and ears.

personally the most troublesome part of the whole process was the ears, i found it so hard to model and even reached out to my class for relevant tutorials on how to do them, none of which had helped me so i stuck to the basic low poly ear technique that james taylor had went with for the head model.

Here are some of the sent videos from class:

 

Thanks guys but the videos proved too complicated, sorry!

The Final Product And Overview Of Module-

 

 

For the head model module I felt it was rather hit and miss to be honest, I felt the lecture series could had covered the need to know parts a lot sooner compared to the new narratives slides although this may be because the new narratives module is worth more marks overall and needs more knowledge given towards achieving what is needed in the final products. Any who, researching for the head model was probably the most fun out of it all getting to review other 3D modellers work and seeing how the topology would look on ones face, I felt this had helped me apply my own topology lines to my reference photos which in turn helped the overall process of modelling in Maya. Modelling the head itself now was beyond a challenge for me, it was so time consuming and the fact that Maya had decided to crash on my pathetic laptop at least three times meant I had to recreate my model multiple times but this had probably worked in my favour as each time the process was faster and better quality (despite me still believing my model is gross). I think the head model module is a module that requires a lot of research, patience and time keeping which I felt I did not plan my time out as well as I should had. Not in the sense of leaving it to the last possible minute but more so that I could had completed it a long time before if Maya did not crash, but regardless it has been an interesting learning experience that had defiantly helped increase my skill level on Auto Desk Maya and its complex controls. If I were to change one thing it would be to have relevant lecture tutorials earlier on when the given task is handed out.
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

